Drunk driving is a serious criminal offense in the state of Maryland. A conviction, even for a first time misdemeanor offense, can result in very severe legal penalties and fines. The Baltimore County drunk driving defense attorneys @hardballlaw invite you to contact us to discuss the DUI charge asserted against you in more detail. They can provide you with legal advice and guidance on how to proceed. Our Maryland DUI defense attorneys serve the entire Baltimore, Columbia and Annapolis areas.
Maryland DUI Penalties
According to Maryland impaired driving laws a person will be charged with drunk driving if he/she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. Below is a table illustrating the minimum DUI penalties in Maryland. The information below is for educational purposes only. Each DUI case is unique and may not result in any conviction. Please contact our Towson, Maryland DUI attorneys to find out how our legal team can get the charge, or charges, against you reduced or completely dismissed.
Your blood alcohol content (BAC) will affect how he/she will be punished. For example, if a first time DUI offender’s BAC is .10% to .159%, he/she will have to serve a mandatory 2 day jail sentence and potentially remain in jail for up to 6 months. In addition, the accused may have to pay a $500 to $5,000 fine. If a first time DUI offender’s BAC is above .16%, he/she will have to serve a mandatory 3 day jail sentence and potentially remain in jail for up to 6 months. Fines will range from $1,000 to $5,000.
In some cases someone facing a DUI charge may qualify for the first offender program. Our Glen Burnie DUI lawyers can help you get into a Maryland firsthand offenders program. Let our Annapolis DUI defense attorneys protect your rights and minimize the administrative, financial and legal consequences of your pending DUI charges.
Additional DUI Consequences
In addition to the penalties mentioned above, a person can lose their driver’s license for a specified period of time as a result of being charged and/or convicted of drunk driving. There is no mandatory minimum license suspension requirements for a first time DUI offense with a BAC of .08%. A BAC range of .10% to .16% carries a 1 year license suspension. If a driver refused to submit to a roadside breathalyzer test, his/her driver’s license will be automatically suspended for 1 year. As you can see a DUI conviction is very serious and mandates the aid of an experienced attorney. Please do not wait to contact our team of Dundalk, MD DUI defense lawyers serving the entire Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford & Howard County areas.
If you feel you have a problem with alcohol and drug our Catonsville, MD DUI lawyers can help get you the treatment you need.
Contact Our Towson DUI Attorneys
We invite you to contact our Randallstown criminal defense lawyers to discuss your DUI case in confidence. Our DUI defense lawyers can provide you with legal advice and guidance on how to proceed. Do not delay in obtaining legal representation. Doing so may harm your case.
Serving those facing impaired driving charges in the Annapolis, Baltimore, Bel Air, Catonsville, Dundalk, Ellicott City, Timonium & Towson areas.